Ink Spilled All Over

All the pages that I wrote has ink spilled all over them and it is such a mess

No point in calling out for help as I know those words are lost forever

I pile and flung them out of the window before they cause me any more stress

And let any man who finds them try and put them back together

Not a single song will let me heal myself now from the memories of their light

The words keep jumping in my head to help me realize just how fickle a lonely heart can be

So I erase the words from my mind but keep them as a photograph when the day turns slowly into night

Unfortunately, I can’t breathe as easy as I used to for everyone has left and everything has gone away from me

And once those words have flown out of my pen, I don’t believe they’ll ever flow out again

Though you’d never understand how much those words meant to me as I wrote them

What has been left here in this wreck is nothing but a lasting sense of hurt, suffering and pain

Well I guess I would have to start anew for sooner I let go of those memories, the faster I would become who I am

49 thoughts on “Ink Spilled All Over

  1. This is heart-wrenching and beautiful. Even though your poem shows a part of the pain you must be feeling, I won’t try to assume that I know exactly your pain, but please, do know this: there are people out there for you, we, we’re here for you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So beautiful. I feel you.
    I wish that you would put all your work in a book so that I can buy it and keep it with me and read it just every word as it is. I feel like that is necessary, only for your work. I love this piece. Thank you for speaking to my heart, again, again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, for me it really taught me to appreciate my writing as well. Up to that point I think I took it for granted. It was just something that I did. So Im thankful for the loss years later for sure. What I write now is so much more to me than just words on a page.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WOW WOW WOW–Frank, you may as well have been writing from my own heart/head. Beautifully wrought piece about pain… and if you’re interested, I posted a song that might at least bring a smile amid the struggle (it works for me, which is why I had to post it) 🙂 I don’t really have much in the way of tangible comfort for you–I’m hanging on by my fingernails to Faith’s Rock, above the abyss of “why is this happening again??” May God bless and strengthen you, comfort you with His peace in the shadows of heartache… Delyn

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know. I know I will come out the other side and appreciate love even more than I do now. I am trying to focus on the universal love to get me through that love which I never ever expected. I had packed away all hopes of it and when I thought it landed on my doorstep I was floored. I could not believe it had found me. Me. Why would I be so blessed and lucky? I should have known then that it was too good to be. Not that I would change a second. It opened my heart wider than ever before. Even if it wasn’t all I had originally hoped. But I have always tried to keep my feet grounded for this very reason. To fly with the angels hurts when you descend. But it is worth the pain in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I do, my friend. Heartbreak is lonely. I can’t even describe the pain, but somehow I think you know. Our hearts are the same and if you are feeling heartache, it is intense. I don’t know what to do. But thank you for being such a good person to me.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Oh, I’m so sorry. My heart hurts just so much for you. You are not alone. I am here and always will be. You are such a beautiful soul and I hope you will see that. I feel very lost, as well. We can get through this together.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

