Stand By Me

In a time of frowns and clowns, laughters have disappeared
Stranded on a lonely island surrounded by all that we feared
Nothing is what it is supposed to be
I’ll stand by you if you stand by me

In the mornings, I wake up lonely and blue
This isn’t what I had signed up to do
Promise to take my hand and set me free
I’ll stand by you if you stand by me

The days, I hide my sorrows with fake smiles
While my eyes are staring away in the distance, miles and miles
Looking for a gentle face washed with familiarity
I’ll stand by you if you stand by me

These evenings are nothing but distorted illusions
Of glowing lights, shapes and combinations
Of a history of tears sans victory
I’ll stand by you if you stand by me

The nights stare right into my eyes
While my bed is already warmed by lies
Tomorrow is too far for me to see
I’ll stand by you if you stand by me

Despite all my efforts, time is eluding me now
I stand here with you asking for one last vow
Don’t ask me to follow. Don’t ask me to lead. Just let me be
I’ll stand by you if you stand by me

20 thoughts on “Stand By Me

Leave a Reply

