Rabbits And Cages Here Eternally Lost

Several years must have passed me by

Since the last time that I met her

Believe me when I say, the more I try

The harder it gets to forget her

She was wearing red and I was dressed in joy

Never got so excited ere, like a little boy

The day was splendid

Not a single cloud in the sky

I can’t remember a more sunny day

In the middle of July

There was hope in the air and the birds were singing true

Maybe later sparks would fly and bells would ring too

I was listening as she spoke

About life, love, rabbits and cages

It’s amazing how she had so much to talk about

It’s like we hadn’t met for ages

Destiny had brought us here after all these years

And now she must lead the way, away from all our fears

In the middle of it all

The old wounds were opened again

I looked skyward and prayed

And asked Him to throw down some rain

Put on your best dress and pour like you’ve never poured before

Just set the scene for me alright, there’s nothing I want more

There was so much happening around us

But all I noticed was her pleasant smile

Nothing seemed to matter anymore

Time, it seemed, had stopped awhile

There was no one between us except confusion and doubt

My heart was writing sonnets but no words ever came out

What was i to do?

Was it the right time to profess?

The emotions of past swerved inside

And left me stranded, I must confess

The end was near. There wasn’t much to analyse

Destiny and rain had betrayed me. It didn’t take long to realize

The castles had been blown away

Like tiny grains of sand

Maybe it was never meant to be

The time had come for us to part

My faith in God was shaken

For leaving me with an empty heart

Nature can be cruel, I cursed the mocking sky

Not a souvenir to take home as I watched the moment die

We didn’t even kiss goodbye

We just waved our hands

walk-away

Leave a Reply

