Happy Independence Day

Come here countrymen, why don’t you hear me out?
Not gonna raise my voice, I ain’t gonna shout
I’ll sing it from my heart but you might have a doubt
A cry for change is what I’d like to tout
It’s not a free country, is it?
I’m not free to be me

Little helpless girls are sold like dirt
The idea of innocence doesn’t even flirt
Money swears and the exchanges are curt
For what they don’t know will never ever hurt
It’s not a free country is it?
Not for the children you see

God is one but our eyes ain’t same
Morals don’t help and religion can tame
Virtue and vice play their own game
When you’ve done nothing wrong, then why the f***ing shame?
It’s not a free country is it?
Even the Gods here aren’t free

Polity is a toy and the vendors are wise
They’ll raise your hopes with a bucket of lies
Put 2 and 2 together and you’ll realize
This ain’t democracy, it’s anarchy in disguise
It’s not a free country is it?
It’s just not a free country

20 years of schooling and I’ve followed all the rules
Trying to break free but the loops can be cruel
They’ve kept me tied long with their secret tools
I’ve never laughed like an idiot or danced like a fool
It’s not a free country is it?
I’m not free to be me

Leave a Reply

